To my nephew James on his 3rd birthday

Happy Happy Happy birthday little one!

Wow, its been THREE years already. I remember when i saw the sonogram pictures of you. My heart was filled with so much joy. It seems like only yesterday that I remember our mom bring your dad home from the hospital. He was the red and looked around alot, like you did when you were a baby LOL. Then when i actually changed your diapers, i remembered when I changed his. I also recall he peed on me a couple of times. (okay, more than a couple) and would laugh himself silly. Thankfully, when i changed yours, we both had a good laugh, without the peeing situation (thank you so much for that).

You are a happy baby (while technically a toddler/little boy), you will always be my baby. You are so loved, even by your pre-school teachers who think you are the smartest little boy in school (as if I didn’t know that already)and their favorite (although they aren’t suppose to have favorites, you are theirs).

You love making your parents laugh, you love yelling at the dogs and you and the cat have a very non-threatening relationship. (the cat loves your dad, you well, he’d rather your dad give him all his love and affection, but that’s only because he was your dad’s favorite first) You love your Nana and think she’s with you while she is talking to you via FACETIME. You walk around with the phone in your hand showing her your toys and other stuff. Now you running around naked she can do without, but you love making her laugh.

Me, you love making me laugh too. you love talking to me, although sometimes i need your father to translate. While you are my youngest nephew and technically, i cannot have favorites of anyone of you, please know that i love you very, very, very much. I think of you (and your cousins) all the time. I wish you nothing but the best and one of my biggest goals in the world is to make it a safer and better place for you and all your cousins.

I want you to know that you are love, absolutely and completely by your family. Both sides of your family. We treasure the child you are now and the man you will become.

This blog is for you and your cousins. It is for you to know me and for you to know that while i might not be with you in person, I want to share what i have learned over the years, the good and bad with you guys so that you don’t have to make the same mistakes I did. I want you to know that I have here for you, thick and thin. Yes, i will yell and scream and threaten to put my foot down your throat, but trust, its only because I CARE. If i didn’t, believe me, I would not even pretend to. I would shake my hands of you (and your cousins) and go about my business.

I want you to know I will always be here for you, even when you do stupid things, make stupid decisions and generally act like a fool. But guess what, that’s what life is about. Making mistakes and LEARNING from them. Learning and growing is what makes us humans. We are all flawed in some way or another, some more than others. The key is to know your flaws but to work to your strengths.

In you i see the hopes and dreams of your parents, who would lay down their lives for you, without questions. You can add me to that also. I want you to know that whether or not i am there beside you physically or on the other side of the world, I will drop everything if you need me to be with you.

Now, i want you to eat lots of cake, run around and scream and yell “today is my birthday” as your parents watch you will more love and joy than their hearts can stand.

I will see you soon and we will take our walks to the park, just like we did before I left. This time, i promise to not take pictures of you but catch you when you come down the slide. In my defense, you were a bit quick coming down that slide, I’m just saying…

love you always

Auntie…

