While we are on the topic

 

 

There has been’uproar’ over several male opera reviewers who decided that, rather than discuss the Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught’s vocal range, they would call her

 


Andrew Clark in Financial Times: “Tara Erraught’s Octavian is a chubby bundle of puppy-fat.” 


Andrew Clements in The Guardian: “It’s hard to imagine this stocky Octavian as this willowy woman’s plausible lover.”


Michael Church in The Independent: “This Octavian (Tara Erraught) has the demeanor of a scullery-maid.” (NPR notes that Church didn’t comment on Erraught’s performance at all, despite her Octavian being one of the opera’s two co-leads.)


Rupert Christiansen in The Telegraph: “Tara Erraught is dumpy of stature and whether in bedroom deshabille, disguised as Mariandel or in full aristocratic fig, her costuming makes her resemble something between Heidi and Just William. Is Jones simply trying to make the best of her intractable physique or is he trying to say something about the social-sexual dynamic?” 


Richard Morrison in The Times of London: “Unbelievable, unsightly and unappealing.”

 

This is what she sounds like

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nIo89lVjnbw

 

ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME???

 

Not if she did stunning in the performance.

Not that she “NAILED” the character

But she’s ‘chubby, fat and dumpy’

 

And what the fuck do you guys look like?? Curious minds want to know?? Right???

 

Michael Church

 

Andrew Clemens

 

 

YEP, that’s what I thought…

 

 

 

 

Let me clue you in on a little something. The AVERAGE size of a woman in the “WESTERN CULTURE” is about a 10/14. Not THE 8 FUCKING SUPERMODELS WHO ARE INTERCHANGEABLE

 

This is beauty

 

If you think your partners (male or female) are with you because of your ‘looks’ and ‘charming personality’, um…

 

 

I’m going to have to say NO.

 

I decided that I would add some other ‘topics’ of discussion on my blog. Such as what’s life like being a ‘big girl’. Now before you say anything, Big girls turn down more dick than you can imagine. Especially those of us who are pretty fuckin sexy. (Like me). But it gets my fuckin blood boiling when skinny bitches think the only men anyone over a size 14 can attract is this

 

 

Let me set the record straight. I have dated men who looked like models, I have dated men who had faces only their mothers could love and guess what? EVERY GUY I have dated was fucking lucky to have me on his arm, whether I was a size 9 or a size 20.

 

Men who approach me like they are doing me a favor don’t get any attention. They don’t get conversation; they don’t get anything but the angry black woman look and a raised eyebrow.

I have told more than one man in my lifetime: “I’ve turned DOWN more dick than you ever had PUSSY in this lifetime, don’t get the game twisted”. Any woman who is confident and sexy will get a man’s attention. It doesn’t matter WHAT size you are. For all those men (and women) who are feeling bad for their ‘big’ girlfriends, don’t be. I turn down dick daily. Cause I can. I don’t have to fuck any man just because he looks at me? I don’t have to have sex with some guy because I’m desperate. For the record, I am not. If sex isn’t on my terms (or any person’s terms) why have it?

 

Once in grad school, one of my classmates said the following to me:

Him: “Normally, I’m not attracted to women your size”

Me: “My size? What makes you think I’m attracted to YOU?”

 

He was all of 5’9 and 165 lbs soaking wet. At the time, I was a size 12/14 and about 180lbs. What the fuck was I going to do with him? If there was a fight, I’d have to help HIS ass out.

He spent the rest of our time in grad school sweating me like Donald Sterling’s wife trying to get her money back from V. Stiviano.

 

There are too many people who believe that someone’s worth is tied to their dress size. It’s not. It never was and never will be.

 

It’s frustrating that a talented professional in her field is reduced to being fat-shamed in the media because she doesn’t ‘represent’ what some moron thinks a character ‘should’ look. Get with the program. Its 2014.

 

Big girls are doing it for themselves. In big ways. Either get on board or we will run you over.

