Another joins the growing brood…

I am an aunt today, for the 11th time. Baby James showed himself this morning at 11am. I am beyond excited. Not because he’s the newest one, but because he’s my baby brother’s baby. I remember when my mother brought my little brother home from the hospital. I took one look at him and told her “he’s too red, can’t you take him back where you got him?” She looked me dead in the eye and was like ” NO, he’s not going back, we’re keeping him.” I was already upset because he wasn’t a girl. My middle brother was like, Oh thank god its a boy!. From the day he came home from the hospital until the day I left for college, I took care of him. My brother and I taught him how to walk, how to talk, how to fake our mother out, how to annoy the other sibling, and how to stand up for himself. My brother and I treated him as a equal, even if he didn’t realize it at the time. From the time he could talk, when we had to vote to do something, he was able to participate. Which, naturally, didn’t go well for me at certain times, especially when i wanted to watch something on TV they didn’t.

Now my baby brother is all grown up, with a family of his own. Of course, I will spoil this one rotten, its only fair. I spoiled his father too…

